January 19, 1950 Spotlite
Dramatic Coach Releases Names For Home Contest
16 Students in Three Divisions Appear At School Monday, January 30

Sixteen students will compete for dramatics honors at the home elimination contest being staged Monday evening, January 30 at the high school beginning at 7:30, according to Rosemary Gleason, instructor and coach.
Those to vie for honors are:
Gay Hockett, What Shall We Defend?
Dick Mincey, Highway Safety.
Sally Schrum, Stand Up and Be Counted.
Rosemary Bock, Nocturne.
Donna Joens, Mothers of Men.
Patty Kasperbauer, Of Mice and Men.
Carol Jean Petersen, Camille.
Marilyn Popp, The Dead Heart.
Mary Lou Foley, Just One Big Happy Family.
LaVonne Hargens, Brother Take a Bow.
Barbara Knaack, The Flea Gang's First Cigar.
Marlene Nulle, And the Cat Came Back.
Sharon Ochsner, Yes Means No.
Beverly Ruhde, Arsenic and Old Lace.
Shirley Watson, Of Mice and Pen.
Phyllis Zerwas, Baby in the Bathroom.

February 2, 1950 Spotlite
Winners Named In Home Declam Meet

Winners of three divisions in the home elimination declamatory contest selected Monday night will represent Manning in future competition with other schools. There were 14 students competing in oratorical, dramatic and humorous division. Rosemary Gleason coaches this department.

Oratorical honors went to Dick Mincey, who gave "Highway Safety," while Sally Schrum, speaking "Stand Up and Be Counted," received second.

Dramatic first-place scoring went to Marilyn Popp with "The Dead Heart." Second place went to Patty Kasperbauer, who gave "Of Mice and Men," and third to Carol Jean Petersen, "Camille." Miss Popp was also a winner in this division last year.

LaVonne Hargens won first honors in humorous with "Brothers Take a Bow," while Barbara Knaack, "The Flea Gang's First Cigars," and Beverly Ruhde, "Arsenic and Old Lace," tied for second place. LaVonne was also on the first-place winner list last year. Judges Monday night were Mrs. Myron Lund, Mrs. Orville W. Harris and Joe H. McGrath. Special music was furnished by a trio, Esther Stryzewski, Marjorie Rowedder and Margie Kienapfel.