February 19, 1948 Spotlite
Declam Winners In District Tonight

Winners of first places in three divisions of the home declamatory contest held last Thursday evening will be in Denison tonight competing for district honors in a state-wide contest.

Those winning top honors here were judged by Joe H. McGrath, Fredda (Mrs. Harry) Hinz and Mrs. Orville Harris. They were -

Oratorical: Colene Gray, first: Sally Schrum, second.

Dramatic: Marilyn Popp, first; Carol Jean Petersen, second.

Humorous: LaVonne Hargens, first: Phyllis Jensen and Beverly Ruhde, second places.

Musical numbers during the evening included vocal solo by Lynn Rix and an instrumental solo by Phyllis Musfeldt. Accompanist was Esther Stryzewski. The drum ensemble also entertained with a number. Students taking part included Faye Jensen, Dick Mincey, Rosemary Bock and Donna Rae Strathman.

The district contest at Denison was originally scheduled for Manning, but because of the girls' district basketball tourney here that evening, a switch of schools was necessitated.